Cayman Islands Department of Tourism Announces Postponement of 20th Annual International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame Induction

18 August, 2020

The International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame’s milestone 20th Anniversary Induction, set to take place in the Cayman Islands on September 25, 2020, has been officially postponed to 2021. Cayman’s borders will remain closed until October 1, 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic; therefore, the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (ISDHF) Board of Directors and the Cayman Islands Department of Tourism (CIDOT) have made the decision to delay the 20th Induction Ceremony to ensure a proper in-person celebration can be held on-island for the Class of 2020 inductees, in lieu of a virtual event. The induction ceremony has been rescheduled for 2021 in Grand Cayman.
The ISDHF will forego extending additional invitations to potential nominees in 2021 to properly pay homage to the dive industry pioneers set to be inducted in 2020. The Class of 2020 – Tom Ingram, Jill Heinerth, Jim Gatacre and Avi Klapfer – will take center stage at an official reception in 2021, where they will be officially recognized and inducted into the ISDHF for their accomplishments in the scuba diving community.  
“While this year’s ceremony was set to be a milestone for the ISDHF, the health and safety of our honorees, guests and staff is our highest priority, and we are following the recommendations of health experts to postpone the gathering,” said Hon. Minister of Tourism, Mr. Moses Kirkconnell. “We extend our sincere appreciation to the 2020 inductees who were primed to celebrate their accomplishment this year, and we look forward to applauding their lifetime achievements safely in person next year. Our celebration in 2021 will be even more special and sincerely worth the wait!”
ISDHF officials look forward to welcoming stakeholders, esteemed guests and inductees to a ceremony that will highlight the important cultural significance of scuba diving in the Cayman Islands, and set the stage for another 20 years of empowerment, achievement and innovation.
The ISDHF was established by the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism in 2000 and celebrates dive industry leaders who have contributed to the success of recreational scuba diving worldwide through innovation and advancements made in the areas of dive tourism, equipment design, dive safety, inclusivity, exploration, adventure, innovation and more.
To learn more about the 2020-2021 ISDHF inductees, please visit:

We use Cookies on this website to improve functionality and performance, to analyse traffic to the website and to enable social media features. To learn more, please see our Cookie Notice for details